Season of the Witch



I really like this version of the movie poster, more than the actual movie actually.
I was pondering the other day on how to attract more readers to the blog and I though writing in english would let the
other like six billion people on the earth that are not swedish read as well. But I would like to know if you (the reader)
mind me writing in english or prefer swedish. I don't ever get comments so if my reading rate goes down I´ll probably switch back to writing in swedish where the (for now) core base of my readers are from.

So anyhow, I watched Season of the Witch a couple of weeks ago and since it´s a blockbuster movie I thought it would be a good one to review. I'm always trying to rewiev movies that the readers are likely to watch for themeselves.

This isn't a movie I would really recommend although it is watchable. A Nicholas Cage movie is always a Nicholas Cage movie and he seems to be fond of doing shitty roles. A corny sorcerer in the Sorcerer's apprentice and an even more corny skeleton biker in Ghost biker although there are light spots even on a dogs turd, his role in Kick-ass was brilliant, it was like a parody of his whole career of trying to do badass action heroes.
But don't get me wrong I do think Nicholas Cage (belive it or not) is a fairly good actor, he just needs to do movies where he fits better rather doing them for the money which he seems to have been doing lately. Lord of war for example where Nicholas does an exellent contribution and feels genuine. I also like the old classics like "face off", con air, gone in 60 seconds and so on.

Wow, that is a lot of text and you guys are already bored i know so let's cut to the chase.

The Movie Takes place in the 14th century and the land is plagued by a plague, haha I feel like I put together very strange sentences today (see also the first row "than the actual movie actually") but i cant find a better way to put it so that's it for now :P
So the plague is ravaging the lands and two deserterers from the holy crusade arrive (Nicholas Cage and Gary Oldman). A boy tending their horses acidentally sees one of their swords which has the crest of the knights crusaders.
So to avoid trial and a very likely death sentence thay have to aid in the transport of a witch who's believed to be responsible for starting the plague, to a monastary to be handled with.
The road to the monastary is of course dangerous and the witch is playing mind games with the fellas transporting her. It later turns out the situation is a bit more out of hand than they initially thought and things need to be handled by the manly man and his sword.



Well this is a quite shitty movie and fits better for the younger audience I would say. The directing is awful and the only acting I found ok was Clair Foy who plays the witch. The plot isn't very original and for the most part not so exiting. It isn't all bad though, I found the whole "experience" to atleast have amused me which is always good.

My score for this popcorn movie is 5,5/10. Watchable if you're in the mood for that kind of movie.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0