Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Oh well here it is, I finally saw the latest pirates of the carribean movie.
I said before that I expected it to be quite bad but that I would try to disregard that fact when I watched it, and I did.
I will tell you what I thoughy soon enough but first a short recap of the movie. (no major spoilers)



Captain Jack Sparrow is in London and in attempt of rescuing his old shipman Gibbs.
He himself becomes captured by a Brittish duke who is after the fountain of youth. Sparrow has by chance got a map of the location of the fountain. The duke has also made a deal with the old captain Barbarossa, who now has aquired a grand wooden leg, to find the fountain for him. Jack as always manages to escape from the grasping brittish hands
and in his search for a new ship he stumbles upon Angelica (Penelopé Cruz) who is an old love of him and the daughter of captain blackbeard. After some swordfighting and wrecking an old pub Sparrow finds himself knocked out and the next thing he knows he is aboard the Queen Anne's Revenge and a captive of the infamous and terryfing captain blackbeard.
But not only the brittish and captain Blackbeard are after the fountain of youth and when the spanish gets involved it becomes a wild race for the source of lasting youth.


Barbarossa has turned Brittish.

One thing that was in favour for this movie was that it was better than it's predecessor, which is maybe not something hard to beat but anyways that's alteast a step in the right direction. A let-down was the lack of Kiera Knightley which in itself is a negative thing ;) Otherwise it was what you would expect it to be, and probably what most people following the series wants it to be; a crazy adventure whith a little bit of (in my opinion) not so funny humor and some wild action sequences. Johnny Depp manages to carry the movie a bit with his nice acting but the it was a bit too not groundbreaking if you get what I mean. It was intresting and all but felt like all the other movies in the series and in my opinion if you are insisting on making so many movies about the same thing you have to come up with something new and suprising to keep my intrest, which it didn't do according to me.

So after having said that I think the score will be a 6 out of 10. Quite well made and a grand adventure and all but not as inventive or intresting as I would have wanted it to be. All the pirates fans can keep calm though, you probably get what you want/expect. The captain is still at it.





Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0